lr_scheduler.OneCycleLR "ValueError: Tried to step X+2 times. The specified number of total steps is X."

Hi folks,

I’m quite new to using PyTorch and Lightning and seem to be running into the same error detailed as below using the lr_scheduler.OneCycleLR, but there is no solution there applicable to my problem:

My optimizer and training loops are as follows - perhaps there is an implementation error?:

def configure_optimizers(self):
    optimizer = optim.Adam(self.parameters(), lr=self.lr)

lr_scheduler = torch.optim.lr_scheduler.OneCycleLR(
        optimizer,                           
        max_lr=self.lr,
        total_steps = self.epochs*self.steps_per_epoch,
        div_factor = 1
        )
    scheduler = {"scheduler": lr_scheduler, "interval" : "step"}

return [optimizer], [scheduler]

def training_step(self, batch, batch_idx):
    x, y = batch
    y_hat = self(x)
    y_hats = torch.split(y_hat, 9) # split every 9 frames (i.e. each sample)
    y_hat = torch.stack([torch.mean(yhat, 0) for yhat in y_hats]) # take all yhat predictions and average over all 9 subframes per sample
    loss = self.loss_func(y_hat, y)
    result = pl.TrainResult(loss)
    result.log('train_loss:', loss, on_step=False, on_epoch=True, prog_bar=True, logger=True)
    return result

The error trace is as below and always occurs at the end of training, with an error of 2 extra steps. It seems that scheduler.step() is called 2 too many times during training regardless of the number of training epochs. If anyone has any ideas for solutions I could be grateful, thanks.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
ValueError                                Traceback (most recent call last)
<ipython-input-31-0144cd8befb8> in <module>
      9 trainer = Trainer(gpus=1, deterministic=True, auto_lr_find=False, callbacks=[lr_monitor])
     10 # net.epochs, net.steps_per_epoch
---> 11 trainer.fit(net, data)